I’m posting this on Fatal Foodies today as well, since I have to rush off and Do Something and I don’t have time for two posts.

A little extra for readers here: MEATLESS MONDAY–FAIL. I made a veggie pie for supper (pics later or tomorrow) and, as I was eating it, I realized that the pie crust contains lard. I came this close….

It’s Temporal Tuesday on Twitter (or, to use the Twitter organizing device, it’s #TemporalTues). Dr. Wendell A. Howe, Temporal Anthropologist, is a character created by author Jeannette Bennett in her time travel series. She gave Dr. Howe his own blog and his own Twitter account, on which he tweets the “mundane” details of his life in our future and our past.

So many people asked to come along on his travels, he–or rather, his creator, Jeanette Bennett–established #TemporalTues . Followers are invited to tweet their time travels on Tuesday, and to follow others’ travels by following the hashtag (the # sign) #TemporalTues. If you aren’t on Twitter, this is nonsense, but that’s nothing new for my posts.

At any rate, in honor of Temporal Tuesday, I’m going to post my recipe for refrigerator dill pickles out of a cookbook I inherited from my grandmother. The publication date of the book is 1954. Shut up, it is not an antique. I was born in 1950. Shut UP!…

The proportions are from the cookbook, but the notes are mine.

REFRIGERATOR DILL PICKLES

  • Brine (1 cup salt to 1 gallon water)
  • cucumbers, washed and cut as you please
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 2 cups vinegar
  • 3 quarts water
  • garlic cloves
  • dill weed

Mix the brine. Wash the cucumbers and prepare. You can leave small ones whole, larger ones can be sliced across into rounds or lengthwise for sandwich slices or into wedges. Put the cucumbers into the brine, weight them under the water with a plate and let stand overnight. Drain.

Rinse cucumbers and pack into clean, hot jars with 1 clove garlic and some dill weed in each jar.

Combine salt, vinegar and water. Bring to a boil. Boil for 1 minute.

Pour boiling mixture over cucumbers in jar. Seal. Refrigerate when cool.

Even my grandsons who were raised on store-bought food love these pickles.

MA

writing prompt: Feed a character who has only ever eaten fast food or store-bought food “real” food and write his/her response.