My husband told me about the Meatless Monday movement. Since we’re mostly meatless anyway, it sounded like a painless sacrifice for us, which is the kind I like best. So I went to the website and took the pledge. Here’s why, according to the web site, it’s a good idea to go meatless at least once a week:

Going meatless once a week may reduce your risk of chronic preventable conditions like cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes and obesity. It can also help reduce your carbon footprint and save precious resources like fresh water and fossil fuel.

Besides, as I said when I filled out the pledge form, veggies taste good!

Not that I’m ready to give up my beloved animal flesh. I bought some sausage patties and some ham this Saturday from local organic farmers, and I’m the same way about those as I was about the free-range chicken: This stuff is too good to give up, but is helping me to eat less meat, because it’s more satisfying than factory meat.

We opened the ham package and I said, “My God! Real ham! I remember this stuff! This is what real ham looks like!”

I couldn’t describe to you the difference, but Charlie and I both said the same thing. And I cooked it and we ate it, and it tasted real, not like sugar or honey or smoke flavoring or salt. It didn’t throw off a lot of water and not much grease. It didn’t have the texture of a sponge. And a little bit went a long way. Lower consumption through higher quality–what a concept.

But today is Meatless Monday, and we bit the bullet and forced ourselves to make do with pancakes made with chopped pecans and fresh blueberries, with pure maple syrup on top. Oh, such suffering!

I’m at the library, using the high-speed internet, so I don’t know if I’ll be home for lunch. Just in case, I brought a sandwich of pepper jack and Provolone cheeses with mustard on English toasting bread. More self-denial!

If I’m home for lunch, I’ll have leftover roasted vegetables and blue cheese dressing in a flour tortilla. Otherwise, I think I’ll put the leftovers and some cheese in a pie, or maybe on a Dutch baby (kind of a Yorkshire pudding).

They had the Battle of Corydon Reinactment this weekend. Crowds filled the town to see John Hunt Morgan and his raiders ride in and do battle with the home-town militia. I’m like, “They do know he whupped our butts, don’t they?”

MA

writing prompt: Force a carnivorous character to go meatless for a full day.

