This week has been a BEAR! I had Monday off, and the rest was, is and shall be packed full. Waa, waa, waa, could I have some cheese with this whine?

Anyway, yesterday we went to Orbis Farm Retreat Center with the Woman’s Literary Club of Corydon which, contrary to the sound of our name, is a pretty rowdy crowd. Helen and Betty, the owners, are members of our group, and great additions they are, too! The center is gorgeous. I took a buncha pitchas, but I DON’T HAVE TIME to purty ’em up and post them, so that will have to wait for another day. Meanwhile, they have pictures posted on their site, linked above.veg pie

Yesterday, I said I might post pictures of my veg pie, so here that is. One evening, I roasted some vegetables: carrots, celery, yellow squash, zucchini, red potatoes, yellow potatoes, sweet potatoes and green beans. I cooked them in my stovetop smoker, but in the oven would be okay. I first coated them in garlic-infused olive oil and sprinkled them with salt and herbs. Okay, so that was the veg. We ate all the red and yellow potatoes, but had lots of the rest left over. Had them for a couple of days wrapped in flour tortillas with pepper jack and/or blue cheese. So I decided to finish them up in a pie. I meant to make gravy or put some cheese in, but I forgot, and it was just as well. They had such a lovely mix of flavors it was just right as it was, and the lack of liquid kept the crust from getting at all soggy.

veg pie doneI use the store-brand prepared crust, the kind in the dairy case that comes rolled up two to a box. I made the mistake of unrolling the crust BEFORE I let it warm to room temperature, so it cracked. Oh, well, it let out the steam, right? I meant to do it, right? Okay. Dumped what was left of the veg into it, folded it up, buggered up the edge and called it “crimping” and shoved it in the toaster oven. Baked it at 350F for around an hour, checking frequently after the first 30 minutes.

Charlie and I split it between us and STILL had some left over, but we’re pretty light eaters. I also boiled some green beans, new red potatoes and onion from the garden. I made my favorite salad, which I got from Chef Joe Barkson of World Wide Recipes:

CUCUMBER MINT SALAD

  • cucumber
  • mint
  • feta cheese
  • lemon juice
  • salad oil (I use olive)
  • salt & pepper

Slice a cucumber and sprinkle with crumbled feta cheese and fresh chopped mint. Mix oil and lemon juice–2 parts oil to 1 part lemon juice–and pour over cucumbers. Salt and pepper.

I could eat this every day!

Now I must rush.

MA

writing prompt: If you could go to a retreat center, what would you hope to accomplish?

