I am totally fan girl about Tim Kang, who plays Kimball Cho on The Mentalist. I call the character Cho Friday, because Kang plays him like Jack Webb played Joe Friday on the old Dragnet, the great-granddaddy of all cop shows.

Cho is the least emotive character I’ve ever seen, including Vulcans, robots and dead people, but Kang always manages to get his attitude across.

Then, this week, we got some of Cho’s backstory and Kang went Rambo on the bad guys, which is another funny thing, because his filmography tells me he was in Rambo.

Anyway, it wasn’t the berserker stuff that got me, and it wasn’t the fact that he’s handsome or that he’s buff, it was when he grabbed the top of a fence with one hand and vaulted over it like an Olympic contender. I was like, “Woah!” and Mom was like, “Yeah,” and I was like, “Dude!” It was a really good episode, too, besides Tim Kang being All That.

Speaking of All That, I have a guest lined up for Actual Content Tuesday tomorrow: Writer/artist/editor Sara Deurell will share a post with us. Sara blogs at Sara D vs Reality on the writing life and the writing process. I’m not only proud to call her my daughter, she actually IS my daughter. Even she admits it. Please join us for a wonderful and informative post.

MA

writing prompt: Write a character who is low-key but suddenly goes all emotional on you, or a character who is usually lively but gets very understated in certain situations or one particular situation.

