Matthew Morgan is the author of Shadowlight, a speculative fiction novel, filled with drama and swordplay. It’s currently available on Amazon.com thanks to the folks at Misanthrope Press.

He has two stories published in the The Creatrive Minds Collection*, and one in The Creative Minds Collection II* and several articles in Faithwriters Magazine.

*Note: Matthew says, ‘I always try to keep my writing “family friendly.” Though my stories in The Creative Minds Collections follow this ideal, some of the other writings are geared for more mature audiences.’

Take it away, Matthew!

About Me

I am first and formost a husband to a wonderful, supportive wife, Martha. We are expecting our miracle baby, Michael Landis, in June.  We have one other child waiting for us in heaven; we lost Mara Joy several years ago to a miscarriage. Currently, we are owned by two feline sisters, Bob and Tilly (yes, Bob is a girl) and live in central Ohio.

I graduated from Gahanna High School, attended The Ohio State University, then moved out to North Dakota and transferred to Trinity Bible College in Ellendale, ND. After pastoring an amazing youth group and graduating with a double major in Biblical Studies and Pastoral Ministries with a minor in youth ministry, Martha and I moved back to Ohio to be close to our families.

We’ve had the chance to travel around the Baltic and Mediterranean Seas thanks to a wonderful grandmother (shameless promotion: if you are in Florida and need to buy a house, I’ll refer you to her – she’s an amazing real estate agent).

Currently I serve as a high school Bible and Computer teacher at Gahanna Christian Academy, using my breaks to focus on writing. I’m also currently working on a Master’s degree in Marriage and Family Therapy from Liberty University.

Dear Sir or Madam:

I have determined that 40 weeks of pregnancy is not to prepare the child – it’s to prepare the parents.

My wife Martha and I were told that we could not have children and had accepted that fact, enjoying our time together. Sure, if we got together with another couple who had kids, we did the traveling. It wasn’t that bad. If we needed a child-fix, we could babysit, get the kids hopped up on sugar, and then give them back to their parents.

Then, in October of last year, my wife took a test that changed our lives. I woke up to a “plus” sign right in front of my face. It didn’t register until later that she was holding a pee-covered stick two inches from my face … but that’s part of the preparation for parenthood – when the child brings a mystery substance that has come from the floor, the ground, or some orifice to let his parent examine it.

The first trimester was crazily peaceful. Martha worked, came home and took a nap, woke up for dinner, then went back to bed. This frustrated her and she often broke down in tears. More preparation for parenthood – eats, sleeps, and cries.

Then, because of a condition, she had to take a medicine that had the side effect of making her stick to her stomach. Her 14 year vomit-free streak ended in an unfortunate meeting of Taco Bell and the Giant Eagle parking lot.  More preparation for parenthood – I was never sure if I’d be able to handle a child who threw up. After almost four months of daily digestive pyrotechnics, I think I can handle it now.

In the midst of this, we bought a house, fixed it up, and moved in to it. Completely changing our routines to accommodate a child? That’s another check mark on parenthood preparation.

And that, Miss Editor, is why I didn’t get the revisions on my book back to you in time.

Lame excuses for not getting homework done? I think I’m prepared now.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Thanks, Matthew! Good luck with that being prepared thing.

MA

