The two are not connected.

First, my mother bought me new shoes yesterday, and is certain I’m going to blog about it today. I try never to disappoint my mother, so I’m fulfilling her prediction.

I’m with shoes the way Click and Clack, The Tappit Brothers, are with cars: drive ’em till they drop. Here are two pictures of my left shoe. Worn much? The second is like unto the first, which is not surprising.

Two brothers are we
Great burdens we bear
With which we are heavily pressed.
The truth is to say
We are full all the day
And empty when we go to rest.

Okay, SLEUTH fans, you know the answer!

And here is one of my new shoes. FIREFLY fans, say it with me: Shiny!

So I put on these new shoes in the store and only took them off to get the tags removed at the cash register, after which I put them back on. And I did a New Shoes dance right then and there. The clerk said, “Have a nice day. And somehow, I think you will.”

I got new shoes! I got new shoes! I got new shoes–Hey, hey, hey, hey!

Now for the lie. Two lies, sort of. First, I said I had posted all the pictures I was going to post of St. Meinrad Archabbey, but I found another one I meant to post but forgot. This is of the door that leads from the cloister out to the rock garden and the outside world, which the brothers and priests go out into all the time, teaching and preaching and leading tours and stuff. I was like, COOL DOOR! When I get rich and have a Storybook Style house, I want hinges like these.

The other lie is that I said I hadn’t been reviewed before Donna Fletcher Crowe‘s review of MA’S MONTHLY HOT FLASHES on Smashwords. Then I remembered that Tom Easton reviewed my soon-to-be-re-released ebook FORCE OF HABIT in Analog Science Fiction and Fact‘s July 1994 issue, back when ebooks were called “books on disk” because that was the only way you could purchase them. He began by saying, “No one is about to praise Marian Allen’s FORCE OF HABIT for its philosophical profundity or stylistic pyrotechnics….” It is, nevertheless, not a slam but a balanced review. So, if you’re looking for philosophical profundity or stylistic pyrotechnics, you might want to give FORCE OF HABIT–in which a teacher on a military academy ship run by Jesuits–gets mixed up in a comedy of mistaken identities (note the plural)–give the re-release a miss. If you enjoy farce, join me in anticipating the re-release by Echelon Press.

By the way, the original was released by Serendipity Systems, under the fearless leadership of John Galuszka, to whom I hereby give heartfelt thanks.

MA

writing prompt: What is your main character’s attitude toward shoes? Cars? People who help them?

