Our youngest grandson (5) brought this for me a couple of weeks ago. My name on it is an address, not an indication that this is what he thinks I look like.

Our grandkids call me Grandmar because my #3 (step)daughter calls me Mar and she had the first grandchild, so he grew up calling me Grandmar and the other grandkids followed suit. I love it, because people think our grandkids are bi-lingual and that they’re calling me Grandmère.

I peeled this guy and put him in our pea salad. It was very good.

We had a Derby party yesterday. Not a real party, just Mom and Charlie and me. Mom made Tilapia (fish) with a tomato/mushroom sauce and I made broccoli casserole.

BROCCOLI CASSEROLE

  • 2 heads of broccoli, cooked or thawed
  • can cream of mushroom soup (YES, I COOK WITH CANNED SOUP! WANNA MAKE SOMETHING OF IT?!? I thought not.)
  • mayonnaise, about 1/4 cup
  • 1 egg
  • shredded cheese–I used Mexican mix
  • toasted slivered almonds
  • water chestnuts, slivered
  • Ritz or similar crackers
  • butter or margarine

Mix everything but the crackers and butter and put into a buttered casserole. Crumble crackers over the top. Dot with butter. Cover and bake at 350 for about 45 minutes. Uncover and bake until top is browned.

We had boughten Derby Pie for dessert and then we had Mint Juleps. I think there was a horse race.

~~~~

I’ve been getting some stories formatted to put up at Smashwords and for Amazon’s Kindle. I already have MA’S MONTHLY HOT FLASHES: 2002-2009 up at both places, and it’s looking pretty good, so I’m continuing with the project. If this bunch comes out looking okay, I’ll post here about how I did it. I’m not allowed to sell stuff on this free blog, so please visit my pro site, where I AM allowed to sell stuff. The Hot Flashes are free there, anyway, but not all in one chunk. I think the cover is way snazzy, if I do say so, myself.

The new collection is called THE KING OF CHEROKEE CREEK, and I should have it up in a week or so. It’s stories surrounding an enigmatic and charismatic Chinese/American(?) whose name translates as something like Bud Blossom, who has a dockside floating restaurant called the Golden Lotus in a small Midwestern town. He likes to tell stories about dragons, for some reason. I’m also, because of this, including “The Dragon of North 24th Street”, originally published in the final issue of Marion Zimmer Bradley’s FANTASY Magazine. So that should be fun. 🙂

Wish me luck!

MA

writing prompt: Next time you go to a restaurant where you don’t know any of the servers, imagine a life for yours. Talk to him/her about what the job entails and what it’s like. Not enough to get him/her in trouble with the boss, of course.

