I am inordinately fond of tofu, carnivore though I am. I also love chicken tikka masala, but I’m off factory chicken, so I decided to try adapting my chicken tikka masala recipe for tofu.

Tofu Tikka Masala

  • 1 block EXTRA FIRM tofu, NOT SILKEN
  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • garam masala to taste–I used about 1/4-1/2 tsp
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 tablespoon butter
  • 1/2 tablespoon garlic-flavored olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 8-ounce can tomato sauce
  • 1 cup heavy cream or half-and-half or milk–if milk, mix with 1 tablespoon flour

Freeze the tofu, then defrost it. Squash as much liquid out of it as you can and cut it into cubes.

Mix yogurt, lemon juice, garam masala and salt. Combine with tofu and toss to coat the cubes. Marinate at least an hour.

Heat butter and oil. If you don’t have garlic-flavored oil, add garlic powder to tofu coating mix. Put tofu into hot butter/oil and turn to brown on all sides. Remove tofu from pan.

Add tomato sauce and paprika and heat. Add cream, half-and-half or milk-and-flour. Cool, stirring, until sauce thickens. Add tofu and heat through.

Serve over rice.

~~~

I put Basmati rice, drained canned peas, butter, salt and water into my rice cooker and it came out very nice. Not having any naan bread, I brushed flour tortillas with butter and broiled them for a couple of minutes. Also very nice.

I liked it very much when it was fresh. Leftover, the tofu absorbed too much liquid and wasn’t as nice, though the flavor was unimpaired. Charlie thought it was “okay,” but he loved the rice-and-peas.

MA

writing prompt: After a beautiful warm week, the weather turns cold and damp; write a character who is glad of it and indicate why without stating it.

