Had a party yesterday, and I baked bread as per ARTISAN BREAD IN FIVE MINUTES A DAY and made some spreads. Here they are:

Pineapple Spread

  • mascarpone cheese
  • powdered sugar
  • crushed pineapple (drained but not dry)

Mix to taste, refrigerate, remove about an hour before serving to soften enough to spread.

Cheese Spread
As I told the son-in-law who asked what was in it, “Cheese, cheese, cheese, cheese and cheese.” I used:

  • cream cheese, softened
  • mild cheddar, shredded or grated
  • bit of sharp cheddar, shredded or grated
  • Parmesan, shredded or grated
  • bit of mayo
  • Italian seasoned bread crumbs

Except for the bread crumbs, mush it all up and roll it into a ball. Roll it in the bread crumbs. Refrigerate. Remove about an hour before serving.

Edith’s Thing
So called because my friend Edith got me hooked on it.

  • cream cheese, softened
  • bit of mayo
  • red pepper jelly

Mix cream cheese and mayo and form into a square or rectangle or, damn, I don’t care. Spoon some red pepper jelly over it. The red pepper jelly has some bite, but its sweetness and the bland cheese mix really well with it. WONDERFUL spread.

Now for the Snoopy Dance–

*danse-danse, danse-danse*

Why am I snoopy dancing? Because I just heard back from Sword & Sorceress XXV that the story I sent them is being held for further consideration. That by no means indicates that I’m in, but it does mean that I’m not out. Yet.

I takes my snoopy dances where I can gets ’em. *danse-danse, danse-danse*

MA

writing prompt: Give a character something to be happy about.

