Get your mind out of the gutter. I’m having an orgy of writing talk. First I met with Jane, then #4 daughter and I went to WRaP (WRite And Promote) meeting, then came back to her apartment and talked story, then slept a bit and got up and talked story some more, then I’m going to Southern Indiana Writers meeting tonight.

If you write, you know there’s nothing more fascinating than talking story. It’s even better than writing, because you don’t have to do any work. Of course, that’s like saying talking food is better than cooking because you don’t have to get onion fumes in your eyes. You also don’t end up with something to eat. But, on the other hand, when you’re talking story, you ARE working. You’re learning stuff about writing from each other–and from yourself. You’re working your way through problems in your own writing or in your understanding of the process. So, by talking story, you’re not only enjoying the heck out of the time, you also come out of it with lots of food for thought.

Okay, that metaphor is long past over.

Now I have to go–#4 daughter and I have lots more story to talk, and only so many hours before I leave for the next leg of my traveling writers’ conference!

MA

writing prompt: One of the things we talked about is how powerful reflected characterization is–that is, showing something about your character by how other people react to or speak about him/her. So pick a character trait and show that a character has it without having him/her demonstrate it.

