One of our daughters had all four wisdom teeth cut out at once, which presented me with a challenge when she came over for dinner: what to give her that was both soft and satisfying. Here’s what we had:

CHICKEN & DUMPLINGS
I cooked celery and carrots in the broth and then skimmed them out, leaving only the flavor. I used canned white meat chicken because I could break it up into bits so small they didn’t need to be chewed. I added a can of chicken broth and some chicken bouillon and packaged frozen dumplings, the flat kind, and cooked it longer than the directions called for. We ate out of flat soup bowls, making it easy for her to cut the dumplings into tiny bits she could swallow whole.

MUSHY PEAS
A can of peas, mushed up with a potato masher, doesn’t sound very appetizing but, with a dollop of real butter, they were a real treat.

FRANCISCADO SALAD
Our friend Francisco first served us this avocado salad, so I call it Franciscado Salad. Just peel and cube or slice an avocado, squeeze lime juice over it, sprinkle with salt and pepper and eat. You can add a blop of salsa, if you want to, but we like it just like this. A nice ripe avocado holds its shape but can be mooshed up with your tongue against the roof of your mouth and doesn’t need to be chomped.

PINEAPPLE DESSERT
I cut rounds out of soft white bread with a biscuit cutter and put the rounds into individual serving dishes. I spooned the juice from a can of crushed pineapple over the rounds, mixed the pineapple with mascarpone cheese and mounded the pineapple mixture onto the bread rounds. I sprinkled the mounds with turbinado sugar. Very nice.

Last night, Charlie and I had this nice bean salad using the other half of the lime I used for the Franciscado Salad:

KIDNEY BEAN SALAD
Drain and rinse a can of kidney beans. Mix with garlic-flavored olive oil, diced celery, chopped onion or onion powder, lime juice, salt and pepper.

I’m posting at Brooke Bonett’s The Bluestocking Guide: Reviews by a Partial, Prejudiced, and Ignorant Reader tomorrow. Hope to see you there! I’ll post the link tomorrow, too.

MA

writing prompt: If your main character had four wisdom teeth out, would he/she get sympathy from your other characters?

One of our daughters had all four wisdom teeth cut out at once, which presented me with a challenge when she came over for dinner: what to give her that was both soft and satisfying. Here’s what we had:

CHICKEN & DUMPLINGS
I cooked celery and carrots in the broth and then skimmed them out, leaving only the flavor. I used canned white meat chicken because I could break it up into bits so small they didn’t need to be chewed. I added a can of chicken broth and some chicken bouillon and packaged frozen dumplings, the flat kind, and cooked it longer than the directions called for. We ate out of flat soup bowls, making it easy for her to cut the dumplings into tiny bits she could swallow whole.

MUSHY PEAS
A can of peas, mushed up with a potato masher, doesn’t sound very appetizing but, with a dollop of real butter, they were a real treat.

FRANCISCADO SALAD
Our friend Francisco first served us this avocado salad, so I call it Franciscado Salad. Just peel and cube or slice an avocado, squeeze lime juice over it, sprinkle with salt and pepper and eat. You can add a blop of salsa, if you want to, but we like it just like this. A nice ripe avocado holds its shape but can be mooshed up with your tongue against the roof of your mouth and doesn’t need to be chomped.

PINEAPPLE DESSERT
I cut rounds out of soft white bread with a biscuit cutter and put the rounds into individual serving dishes. I spooned the juice from a can of crushed pineapple over the rounds, mixed the pineapple with mascarpone cheese and mounded the pineapple mixture onto the bread rounds. I sprinkled the mounds with turbinado sugar. Very nice.

Last night, Charlie and I had this nice bean salad using the other half of the lime I used for the Franciscado Salad:

KIDNEY BEAN SALAD
Drain and rinse a can of kidney beans. Mix with garlic-flavored olive oil, diced celery, chopped onion or onion powder, lime juice, salt and pepper.

I’m posting at Brooke Bonett’s The Bluestocking Guide: Reviews by a Partial, Prejudiced, and Ignorant Reader tomorrow. Hope to see you there! I’ll post the link tomorrow, too.

MA

writing prompt: If your main character had four wisdom teeth out, would he/she get sympathy from your other characters?

