I spent the afternoon with #3 daughter, who sprained her back. Took her to the doctor, who straightened out the dosage and frequency of the meds they prescribed at the ER and who told us how to make a hot pack (directions below). Took daughter back to her place, made the hot pack, made a list of doses, meds and times, nuked her some supper and got her settled down to eat. Just as I picked up my purse and said, “Your dad will be wondering what happened to me,” her phone rang, and it was Charlie, wanting to know how she was and what had happened to his wife.

We waved goodbye and I drove home, wondering what I could make for supper that was quick and yum. Just as I walked in the door, Charlie was putting supper on the table: breakfast for supper–my favorite!

So am I lucky, or what?

Cheap and Easy Hot Pack

  • Man’s tube sock
  • cheap raw rice
  • microwave

Put enough rice into the sock that the rice can move around a little–don’t pack it tightly. Leave room to tie the top of the sock closed. Put it in the microwave for 1 1/2 minutes. More, if that isn’t warm enough. The beauty of this is that, unlike a heating pad, this cools down by itself, so you can go to sleep with it on and not worry about cooking yourself.

~~~~~~~

And all the daffodils and narcissus are in bloom–I wish I could post how the air smells today! The forsythia is going to pop today. It’s damp, maybe going to rain, so I’ll be back in the woods in the next day or so to hunt for mushrooms. 🙂

The Almost Famous Authors’ Faire is this Saturday, March 27, 2010, from noon to 7pm at the Greentree Mall in Clarksville, Indiana. I’ll be there with copies of Sword & Sorceress XXIII and chocolate hearts and press-on Chinese tattoos. Should be fun!

Also going grocery shopping with my Mom today. We love grocery shopping. For one thing, we always meet friends out and about. For another thing, we enjoy one another’s company. Mom says, “We think each other is funny.” It’s true. We crack us up.

I’m a lucky person. And the luckiest thing of all is, I know how lucky I am right now–I don’t have to look back in an unhappy time and think, “I didn’t know how good I had it then.” Not smug, very appreciative of my current blessings.

MA

writing prompt: Write a character who has everything going for him/her but doesn’t appreciate it. It could be a comedy or a tragedy, couldn’t it? Or just plain damned irritating.

