Expecting lots of company today. Reminds me of the old days, when Sunday afternoon was the time everybody visited around. I got some tofu out to defrost and it’s marinating now. Shut up–tofu is GOOD, if you make it right!

Start with extra-firm–NOT SILKEN. Even extra-firm silken tofu is too squishy. Freeze it, then defrost it. That seems to firm it up even more, and helps get the water out. Squeeze it–carefully–like a sponge until you get as much liquid as possible out of it. That’ll make it ready to soak up whatever flavors you put to it. I like a marinade of garlic-infused olive oil, sesame oil, soy sauce and white wine.  About 1/2 cup altogether. I slice the tofu into 6 slices, put it in a container in a single layer and pour the marinade over it. It just needs to be in it long enough to soak up most or all of that liquid. Then I bake it at 350F for about half an hour. It’s great on sandwiches, cubed in a stir-fry or as a “steak”.

In other news, I have somehow or other given Yahoo the impression that I want it to be my default search engine. I don’t. Yahoo Search sucks. Firefox doesn’t seem to have a place to tell it what search engine I want to use. DO NOT LIKE Firefox 3.5.7! But, even as I write this, I see that Firefox is downloading 3.5.8 for Linux, so we’ll see if that’s any better. As it is, I can’t print from the web and I can’t view my stats in Flash. bleh.

Oh, well, as Mom says, if that’s the worst thing that I ever have to put up with, I’m way ahead of the game.

Life is good, here on Walton’s Mountain. Mostly.

MA

writing prompt: Give your main character tons of unexpected company. Does he/she see it as a good thing or a bad thing?

