I can’t remember if I posted this recipe before, but I made it last night so I’ll post it today.

This was my late grandfather’s recipe. We just love it, but it’s so rich we don’t have it very often.

SOCK IT TO ME CAKE (baked in a Bunt pan)

  • 1 box butter cake mix
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 stick margarine or butter
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup nuts
  • 2 Tbs brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

You can do this three ways: You can mix the nuts in with the batter so that they’re distributed all through the cake. You can mix the nuts in with the brown sugar and cinnamon. You can do both.

Mix together everything but the brown sugar and cinnamon (and nuts, if that’s how you’re doing it). Beat well, pour half of the batter into the pan. Mix brown sugar and cinnamon (and nuts, if that’s how you’re doing it) together. Sprinkle over batter in pan; then pour the remaining batter in pan. Bake at 350F until done, about 40-50 minutes.

To make the glaze, mix a little softened butter and some powdered sugar and a little milk. Stir it until it’s smooth and thick, then spoon it over the top of the cake.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This has been a Grandpa weekend: Today in church, we sang his favorite hymn, which is also my favorite, “It Is Well With My Soul.” The church organist plays it for me as a recessional every Fourth of July or the Sunday closest to it, because that was Grandpa’s birthday and I told her it was his favorite hymn. Our new preacher, NOT knowing that, chose it to sing today because it’s HER favorite.

I put out a sign-up sheet for people to bring goodies on Sunday morning. We used to have them every Sunday morning, but that’s fallen by the wayside, and I miss it, so I wanted to revive it. We have about 6 women signed up (I said, “Men can do it to, you know!”) and we may just do it on the first Sunday of the month, so each of us will only have to do it twice a year. I like having that back. It’s friendly.

MA

writing prompt: Give a character a couple of days filled with reminders of someone who is gone.

