I hope you enjoyed D. B. Grady’s visit yesterday. I know I did. Now, alas, we’re back to what I had for supper and what the weather is like in Southern Indiana. (Hi, Mom!)

It’s sunny here–actually sunny! The sky is clear and as blue as David McCallum’s eyes. Trying to sucker me into going out without my coat. Ha–not likely!

What? What did I have for supper last night? I’m glad you asked. I had English roast potatoes (Thanks, Simon, for the recipe!) and layered pea salad and oven-fried cod (Thanks, World Wide Recipes!).

The pea salad was just Romaine lettuce, then diced celery, then defrosted green peas, then a mixture of mayonnaise, mild cheddar, freshly grated Parmesan, salt and onion powder.

English roast potatoes, in case you missed it first time around, is potatoes cut up and boiled partway done. Then drain them but leave them in the pan. Then add some olive oil (or, I guess, butter) and seasonings, cover and shake until the outsides of the potatoes are fluffy. Then dump the potatoes into a pre-heated oven at 450F (um…dump them into a PAN in a pre-heated oven….) and bake until crispy and browned on the outside.

Soak fish in milk for 10-15 minutes, then dredge in seasoned bread crumbs (Don’t drink the milk, by the way. Throw it out, okay? Promise?). Oil a pan and put the breaded fish in it. Spray or drizzle top with more oil or whatever. Bake or broil until browned on one side, then turn over and bake at 500F or broil until done on that side. The original recipe said it would take 4 to 5 minutes, but he must have used paper-thin fish. These big fat cod fillets took about 20 minutes, total. Good, though!

MA

writing prompt: How do you feel when an enjoyable guest has gone?

