Last Sunday, I peeked into the nursery/playroom at church and saw one of the young boys dressed in plastic armor, nocking an arrow (suction-cup-tipped) into a small bow. I said, “A hero, eh?” He pointed the arrow at me. I ducked back and said, “Whoa! I’m a good guy!” He said, “Oh, yeah? Then what’s the Star Trek secret password?” I did the hand thing and said, “Live long and prosper.” He gave me a funny look and said, “Yeah.” I got the feeling he didn’t know there WAS a Star Trek secret password.

At the sleep clinic, one of the times I came out, trailing clouds of glory…I mean wires…to use the Necessary–which was AT THE ENTIRE OTHER END OF THE FREAKIN’ HALL–I asked the young woman who was tech that night, “Do you only ever do women?” She gave me a funny look and said, “What?” I said, “Do you only do women or do you have men sometimes?” She said, “I don’t know what you mean.” I said, “Both of your patients here tonight are women. Do you ever have men as patients?” She said, “Oh. Oh, no men suffer from sleep apnea, too.” It wasn’t until after I’d had a good night’s sleep that I realized what it sounded like I was asking her.

MA

writing prompt: Have a character do something that garners him/her a funny look.

