Today is a sad and happy day, and both for the same reason. Today we say farewell to Marc Wessels, our interim minister because we have a new minister coming–I guess the following Sunday.

We’ll miss Marc–He’s been interesting, amusing and challenging, all in positive ways. He may not see it, but I think we’re better off for his having been with us.

He asked–jokingly, perhaps–for me to make rice pudding for his farewell pitch-in, so I did. It’s baking, even as I type.

Yes, I actually do MAKE this. It isn’t a powder or a refrigerated package. I do, however, use instant rice, so I get to keep my cred. I use this recipe from an ancient copy of Betty Crocker’s cookbook, probably the first cookbook I bought after I started to cook when I was thirteen or so. I’m typing some of the words from memory, since I’ve used this so often there are bits missing.

RICE PUDDING

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup uncooked instant rice
  • 3 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 cups milk, scalded
  • 1/2 cup raisins, if desired (I do)
  • Cinnamon

Heat oven to 350F. Heat water to boiling. Remove from heat; stir in rice. Cover and let stand about 5 minutes.

Blend eggs, sugar, vanilla and salt. Gradually stir in milk. Mix in rice and raisins. Pour into ungreased 1 1/2-quart casserole; sprinkle rice mixture with cinnamon. Place casserole in square pan, 9x9x2 inches; pour very hot water (1 1/4 inches deep) into pan.

Bake about 70 minutes or until knife insertedhalfway between center and edge comes out clean. Remove casserole from water. Serve pudding warm or cool.

~~~~~~~~~

I call Marc Spaceman, by the way, because he’s a Space Exploration Archivist, and it’s so great to talk to somebody who believes in both God and science. The two are identical, not opposites.

Anyway.

Gots to go check on my puds.

MA

writing prompt: Write a farewell party.

