My mother and I belong to the Woman’s Literary Club of Corydon (established in the 1800s–no, we are not founding members), which is meeting today. I have the program. Every year, we choose a theme, and each month a different member reports on a book or writer that fits that theme.

My report is on THREE MEN IN A BOAT (TO SAY NOTHING OF THE DOG). If I were shipwrecked on a desert island and could only have one book with me, which would never wear out, it would be this one. Parts of it are so moving I can’t read them aloud. Parts are so funny, I can’t read them to myself. Some time in the next week or so, I’ll put my report up with my other Books I Love reports, but I don’t have time today–I have to get ready to give the report to the club.

I first heard of this book in Robert Heinlein’s HAVE SPACE SUIT–WILL TRAVEL. It was just a mention, but it stuck in my mind. Then I got addicted to Peter Lovesey’s Sergeant Cribb mysteries, and read SWING, SWING TOGETHER, in which the detectives follow a group of suspects along the route taken by the Three Men (and dog). That made me want to read the original, and I finally found it at the library. I loved it so much, I bought a copy for myself. I’ve read it over and over, read it to #4 daughter when she was young and read it to my mother not too very long ago. It’s one of my go-to books when I’m feeling anxious or blue.

So now I get to introduce it to my club. It’s one of the most famous and popular books in the world, but I meet so many people who have never heard of it! They’ve heard of it AFTER they meet me, though….

If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it!

MA

writing prompt: Send a character on a ten-day trip in cramped quarters with two friends and a dog.

