Today is the last day of NaNoWriMo. I still haven’t met my personal goal, and the book still isn’t finished, and this morning is PACKED, so I may not make it. Must rush in a mo, and may be cramming words down my laptop’s gullet this aft, so a quick post on the fly this morn.

Yesterday, the first hymn we sang was what I call The Yoo-Hoo Song. It’s actually one of my favorite hymns, but still, it is The Yoo-Hoo Song. The actual title is “On Eagle’s Wings” and it is quite beautiful. Unfortunately, the hymnist chose to open it on two high notes, the second slightly lower than the first, an on these notes he set the words “You, who…,” as in “You, who dwell in the shelter of the Lord….” There’s a Jeeves and Wooster story in there, somewhere.

One of my favorite Christmas hymns is one I call Jesus On A Banana Boat. It’s “real” name is “Angels We Have Heard On High” and it is wonderful and uplifting and exhilarating, if you have the breath for the chorus, which is: “Glo-O-o-o-o-o-O-o-o-o-o-O-o-o-o-O-ria! In excelsis Deo!” Day-O. Banana boat. It doesn’t take much to amuse me.

My mother used to have a teddy bear she named Gladly, after the hymn, because the bear was cross-eyed, so the nut doesn’t fall far from the tree. Oh, the hymn is “Gladly the Cross I’d Bear.”

On the subject of bears, I used to irritate my #4 daughter by expressing pleasure whenever we were to sing “Lift High the Cross” and would whisper to her, “Did you know Jesus was a bear? This song says he was.” It says, “All newborn servants of the Crucified bear….” Look it up. Actually, it often says, “Each newborn servant of the Crucified bears on his brow the seal of Him who died,” but our hymnal was Inclusive and didn’t have hims and hers. It wasn’t a hymnal, it was a personal.

Well, that’s enough of that.

Have a happy.

MA
writing prompt: Does your main character have a favorite hymn?

