I go next door to visit my mother almost every day, and we like to have tea and treats when I do. Sometimes she makes cookies, and sometimes I make cake. Ever since I found that recipe for “5-minute cake”, I’ve been making those. It’s fun to experiment with different ingredients for different flavor combinations. So far, our favorites have been chocolate with marmalade and chocolate with nuts and chocolate chips.tapittome

The other night, I made this one. It’s a variation on the “Sock It To Me” cake. Since it’s so little, I call it:

TAP IT TO ME CAKE

  • 1/2 cup butter yellow cake mix
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 Tbs butter, softened
  • 2 Tbs (about) brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp (about) cinnamon or to taste
  • 4 Tbs (about) chopped pecans

Mix the cake mix, egg and sour cream in one bowl, the butter, brown sugar and pecans in another. Put half the cake batter into a buttered, microwave-safe pan. I use a single-serving souffle dish, but a large mug would do fine. Put about 1/3 of the pecan mixture on top of the batter, and put the rest of the batter on top. Put a plate over the top and microwave on high for about 2 1/2 minutes (times will vary by microwave). Take the plate off and let the cake cool for a couple of minutes. Loosen it around the edges and turn it out onto the plate. Put the rest of the pecan mixture on top.

We cut this cake in fourths and share it for two nights.

MA

writing prompt: How often does your main character see his/her mother? What do they do when they’re together, if they ever are?

