I got this in an email from my #4 daughter:

I made the most yummmmmy fall soup today!  I had about 3/4 of a medium yellow squash left over from something I fixed last week, so I looked through my cookbooks and sort of roughly followed a recipe for butternut squash soup, although I had to use powdered mashed potatoes because those were the only potatoes in the house!  But it came out REALLY tasty, so I thought I would tell you what I did:

SQUASH SOUP

For 2 servings:

  • 1 medium yellow squash, chopped
  • 2 cups vegetable broth (or 2 cups water plus one cube of veggie boullion)
  • salt, pepper, and paprika to taste
  • 2 Tbs butter (or I can’t believe it’s not butter, in my case)
  • About 2 Tbs chopped onions
  • 3-6 Tbs mashed potato flakes (depending how thick you want it)
  • About 1/4 cup milk or cream

Melt the butter in a small pot and add the onions – sautee over medium heat until the onions are tender but not browned.  Add veggie broth, salt & pepper, paprika, and squash.  Bring to a boil, then simmer for 35 minutes (uncovered).  Remove from heat, put through a blender or food processor, return to pan.  Add milk (I actually used half milk, half plain creamer) and potato flakes, warm over med-low heat until slightly thickened.  Top with shredded colby-jack cheese and sour cream!

Ohhhh, it was so tasty!  Definitely comfort food for the fall.  🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So I wanted some of this soup. I didn’t have any yellow squash, but I did have a butternut squash. And Charlie doesn’t eat onions, unless they’re in something somebody else cooks. So I peeled and seeded and diced a butternut squash and boiled it in water with veggie boullion. I also threw in a handful of roasted sunflower seeds, some marjoram and some onion powder. Meanwhile, I melted the butter and put about 1/8 tsp of paprika in it, and stirred it until the paprika smelled good and toasty, then added that to the squash. When it was tender, I was like, “Blender? We don’t need no stinkin’ blender,” and just mished everything with a potato masher. (Mishing is like mashing, only not as thorough, so there are some larger bits left.) Then added the potato flakes, took the pan off the stove, covered it, and let it alone for about 5 minutes. I totally forgot about the cheese and sour cream. They might have made it so good, it would have killed me.

She’s right–this is GOOD food!

MA

writing prompt: Show one of your characters cooking a meal. It doesn’t have to go into the book/story/screenplay, it’s just a way to know your character better.

