Not much time to post today, first day of NaNoWriMo–National Novel Writing Month! Today is packed, too, so it’s lucky I got mixed up and thought NaNo was in October and got a head start. heh!

Nobody guessed my costume, so I’ll have to draw from the incorrect guesses for a winner. Okay, the title of a fiction-sounding non-fiction book published in the latter half of the 20th century–

  • black
  • sparkly
  • moon and stars
  • flowers
  • Jiminy Cricket, the symbol of Conscience for my generation

What else could it be, but MIDNIGHT IN THE GARDEN OF GOOD AND EVIL?

~~~

There was an almost-full moon last night for Halloween. This morning, Charlie said he would walk up to get the paper by its light. I said, “Watch out for the werewolves.” We’re both about halfway deaf in our old age, so he said, “Watch out for the gerbils?

I put on my best Maria Ouspenskaya voice and said, “Even de man whooss hearrt iss pure, and sayss hiss prayers at night, may turrn into a GERBIL ven de volfbane bloomss and de moon iss fool ant brright.”

Charlie said, “…Kind of anticlimactic, isn’t it?” and went and got the paper.

And now you must excuse me–I’m off to NaNo, before I turn into a gerbil.

MA

writing prompt: What’s the worst animal a person could involuntarily morph into? What’s the best?

