The contest again: Okay, here is the costume I wore to Halloween on the Square. Many people liked it, but nobody knew what it was. If you think you know what it is, post a comment. AnyoneCostume who guesses correctly will have his or her name put into a drawing. On October 31, a winner will be drawn from any correct guesses. If there are no correct guesses, I’ll put all INCORRECT guesses into a drawing. The winner gets a copy of THE GIFT OF MURDER, Wolfmont’s 2009 Toys For Tots benefit anthology.

Clues and hints, some new today: I’m the title of a book published in the last part of the 20th century. It’s a non-fiction book, but most people think of it as fiction because it reads like fiction. I’m all in black, but I was sprayed with sparkles. My earrings are moons and stars. All the rest of my jewelry and the trim on my shawl are floral, except for a Jiminy Cricket pin.

~~~

I made a really good sammich the other day. Got me some pepperjack cheese and put that and some ham on rye bread schmeered with mayonnaise and grilled it. Made my mouth so happy! This morning, I made latkes:

LATKES

  • defrosted potato shreds (sometimes called hash browns)
  • egg
  • flour
  • onion or onion powder
  • salt/pepper
  • oil

Heat enough oil to coat the bottom of your pan. Combine other ingredients. Just enough egg and flour to coat everything and bind the potato and onion together. I use onion powder rather than real onion. Fry until golden brown on both sides.

After I took the latkes out to drain on paper towels, I threw a couple pieces of ham into the pan (Did I say it was a kosher meal? Did I? Let me see…. No, I don’t believe that I did.) and ate it all with a dainty and ladylike glob of apple jelly. Yum!

MA

writing prompt: Does your main character like sparkly things, or does he/she think sparkles are tacky?

