Got the hankerin’ fer some comfort food last night, so I made a traditional Midwestern ethnic favorite: Tuna Noodle Casserole. In order to be authentic, this must be made with CANNED tuna, not fresh, CANNED cream of mushroom soup, not home-made mushroom sauce, CANNED peas and, preferably, Velveeta cheese product. I didn’t have any Velveeta, so I had to use pre-shredded mild cheddar, which is almost as bad–er, good. I also used onion powder rather than fresh onion, so I redeemed myself. Oh, and you have to use saltine crackers.

TUNA NOODLE CASSEROLE

  • can of tuna (I use white in water, but any kind will do)
  • can of cream of mushroom soup
  • can of peas (probably won’t need the whole thing–just add as much as you want)
  • cooked noodles (used flat noodles, but spaghetti or macaroni is okay)
  • cubed mild cheese, Velveeta or mild cheddar or whatever you like
  • diced onion or onion powder
  • saltine crackers, crumbled

Mix all ingredients together. You only need enough crackers to make the mixture nice and gummy. Glop it into a buttered casserole dish and cover with foil. I put it in a small bread loaf pan and cooked it in the toaster oven. Bake at 350F for about 45 minutes, less if it’s spread thin in a large pan. Remove cover. Sprinkle with more cheese and bake an additional 15 minutes or until cheese is melted.

Mmmmm…. Good for what ails you.

MA

writing prompt: Are your main characters’ comfort foods upscale or downscale? Do they admit to them?

