I’m not supposed to use this free blog to sell stuff, so I’m being bad. But I’m not selling anything for my own sake, so I’m good.

A while back, I announced the happy happenstance that a story I wrote had been accepted into THE GIFT OF MURDER, an anthology of crime stories set during the winter holiday season. All the authors donated our stories, and Wolfmont donates all its net proceeds to the Marine Toys for Tots Foundation. Here, I’ll let publisher Tony Burton tell you all about it:

In case you didn’t know, Wolfmont has, for the last three years, published anthologies of short crime fiction, with the theme of crimes around the winter holiday season. By the sale of those books, we have been able to donate a total of over $6,600 to the Toys for Tots Foundation.

This fourth book will be our largest thus far to help Toys for Tots, with 278 pages of great stories.

The 2009 anthology contains nineteen fantastic stories of winter holiday crime from some very talented and generous authors. Here is the roster:

Stefanie Lazer

Anita Page

Steve Shrott

Herschel Cozine

Our goal in 2008 was to raise at least $3,000 more for these kids, and we made it, overtopping our goal to reach $3,300.

Our goal with THE GIFT OF MURDER is to be able to push our total for the four years up to over $10,000 for Toys for Tots!

We have stories not only of Christmas crime, but Chanukah and Kwanzaa, and some stories that combine all three!

Order from us, contact one of the authors to purchase a copy, or get it through your local bookseller!

Get it from your favorite

independent bookseller!

Or, if you prefer, order from Amazon

Or, you can buy it directly from Wolfmont. I’ll also be selling copies here and there, hither and yon, once place or another.

Here’s an excerpt from my story, “The Spirit of Spadena Street”:

Mama clack-clacked into my home office in those wooden-soled sandals she wears around the house–probably because they make noise. She came hooting and talking without contractions so I’d know it was important, “Oh! LeJune! You will never guess what happened!”

I saved the document I was working on. I knew from long, sad experience I might as well see this thing through. My swivel chair creaked under my weight as I swung around to face her and said, “What happened, Mama?”

“I was outside talking to Chickapoo and her cell phone rang and it was that friend of hers, Louise Janssen that works at the hospital and Louise said Joseph Caltrop just got admitted.”

“No!” That was news. Joseph Caltrop was a friend and neighbor. He was a realtor and the owner of the place we were having our neighborhood Christmas party. “Was it a heart attack, or what?”

With a gleam of great satisfaction that I hadn’t guessed right, Mama said. “No. He had been mugged!

“Oh, my Lord and time! Is he going to be all right?”

“Was it a gang?”

“What I told you is what Chickapoo told me Louise told her.”

“I wonder if Buck knows anything.”

Before I had the whole sentence out, Mama sprinted for the living room, but I flipped open my cell and pulled up Buck’s number.

“I got it!” I called, and heard her faint damn from the hall.

I urge you to buy the book, not for my story, but for the cause. But I hope you like my story. 🙂 These are the characters I’m writing about in this year’s National Novel Writing Month project. The book will be called DOWN AND DIRTY DEATH.

MA

writing prompt: How does your main character get along with his/her mother? How would he/she get along if they lived together?

