I was busy as a bird dog. I was busy as a one-armed paper-hanger. I was busy as a long-tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs.unsavorypast100209

Friday, Joanna Foreman, Ginny Fleming and I represented the Southern Indiana Writers at Corydon’s Unsavory Past. We had copies of our books GHOSTS: ON THE SQUARE…AND ELSEWHERE…. and THERE’S SOMETHING UNDER THE BED-TIME STORIES for sale. Joanna had her GHOSTS OF INTERSTATE 65 and I had my GIFT OF MURDER anthology. We mingled and schmoozed with the attendees, sold some books, learned some lessons about marketing and venues and had an all-around good time. Didn’t get home until after eleven. Thought I was going to turn into a pumpkin.

Saturday, Mom and I got up and went to the farmer’s market (nothing for me–we have green beans, potatoes and green tomatoes, and I still have the sweet potato and turnip I bought last week). Then we went to the art show, a retrospective of our late friend Violet Bruner Windell’s work. She was a fascinating and multi-talented person, and a good friend. We both miss her a lot.

As an additional treat, there was a Boer goat sale at the fairgrounds, and I took Mom to that. For some reason, she’s obsessed with goats. I said, “Okay, let’s go look at them, but let’s not smell them.” She said, “Too late.” Once we got to the building, she decided she’d rather stand outside and look in rather than walking in amongst the pens. The goats were all BMWAAAAAAAA! and ngngngngoat! BMAHHHHHHHH! and hoofing at the ground, nipping at each other and shaking their horns. I was like, “Oh, yeah–I sure want a couple of those in my yard….”

Then we came home and got some lunch, picked up Charlie and went to an organizational meeting in favor of “health insurance reform”. We were like, “Health INSURANCE reform?? What happened to health CARE reform? Where did that emphasis go?” Came home from that and had the evening off lalala.

So today I needed to drive Mom to her church (St. Peter’s Lutheran) because her regular ride wasn’t available to her today, then went to my own church, Corydon Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). I won’t critique Marc’s sermon today because, if I did it every week, and if he knew I critiqued him every week, it might make him self-conscious and that wouldn’t be nice. He always has a challenging message, whether I agree with him or not.

Today is a free day again–lots of writing projects, but that’s my joy.

Good day today. I’m aching all down my back and both legs into my feet. I spend too much time in my head. Aching makes me aware of my presence in my body, my presence in the world. It makes me notice my physicality and the physical world around me, and that’s a very good thing.

MA

writing prompt: Describe the world around you RIGHT NOW.

