Not in jail. Today is the last day of my birfday monf. I’m always surprised when somebody asks me how many days a particular month has, although I do have to run through the poem, just to be sure. I was taught this as a child, and it could be that the reason I remember it is that the first month mentioned is the one with my birthday in it:

Thirty days hath September,
April, June and November.
All the rest have thirty-one
Excepting February, it’s clear:
Twenty-eight, twenty-nine in Leap Year.

So now you know. That’s called a mnemonic, in case you didn’t know–something that helps you remember something. I guess that makes my mother and me (yes, that is grammatically correct) mnemonics: “I’m putting this in the front zipper pocket of my purse. Now, when I say, ‘Oh, no–what did I do with that?!?’ you say, ‘You put it in the front zipper pocket of your purse,’ okay?”

Heading over to Louisville today for lunch with Jane. If anything interesting happens, I’ll try to take a picture of it. –Well, let’s be honest, I’ll probably post about it, whether it’s interesting or not.

MA

writing prompt: Give a character a mnemonic device to remember something important.

