• Sit down.
  • Turn on computer.
  • Open file.
  • Think.
  • Phone rings. Answer phone. Talk to caller.
  • Other phone rings. Answer phone. Talk to both callers at once. Keep them both talking after they’ve tried to get off. Let them hang up.
  • Think.
  • Write a line.
  • Go back and change seven lines earlier in the story.
  • Phone rings. Talk to caller.
  • Think.
  • Play Solitaire.
  • Play Free Cell.
  • Play Minesweeper.
  • Write a paragraph. Move it. Move it back. Move it somewhere else.
  • Go back and delete an earlier paragraph.
  • Phone rings. Talk to caller.
  • Open an earlier version of the file and cut three paragraphs from it and paste them into the new file.
  • Think.
  • Daughter and grandson come in. Play with grandson. Make lunch and eat with family. Play with grandson. Talk with daughter. Play with grandson.
  • Think.
  • Play Solitaire, Free Cell, Minesweeper.
  • Write.

Doesn’t sound like a formula for success, but I actually did finish the story I’ve been working on. It isn’t a technique I would ever recommend for anyone else, but it’s the one I’ve had to learn to work with. I think I sort of sneak up on it, and finish it while it thinks I’m not paying attention to it. Bwa-ha-ha-ha-ha!!!

MA

writing prompt: Sneak up on a story and write it while it isn’t looking.

