Not like real housekeeping. Not like mopping the floor and dusting the tchotchkes and stuff. I mean metaphorical housekeeping. Like:

Yesterday or whenever, I posted Three Sisters Casserole but I didn’t say why I called it that. Some of my five regular readers already know this but, for those who don’t, The Three Sisters is what food history peeps call the three mainstays of American Indian agriculture and cuisine: beans, corn and squash. Since those were the primary ingredients of the casserole….

Recently, a friend whose sense of humor sometimes takes a dry turn, announced that she had read another blog to which I had posted and that it was very funny–“Marian can be quite witty. You wouldn’t expect it, but she can be.” The lady sitting next to her went all wide-eyed and jaw-dropped and gasped, “That was kind of a…left-handed compliment, wasn’t it?” I was glad I didn’t have a mouthful of coffee during the exchange or I would have lost it.

THE GIFT OF MURDER is available for pre-order (a little cheaper than the full $15 price). THE GIFT OF MURDER is the winter-holiday mystery anthology Wolfmont publishes every year to benefit the Marines’ Toys for Tots Foundation. I have a story in it, “The Spirit of Spadena Street”, featuring LeJune and her mother June Rose, who live together on Spadena Street, a two-block neighborhood of Storybook Style houses. The neighborhood is planning a holiday party, trying to decide on what holiday they’re going to celebrate (not all the neighbors are Christian, but June Rose says she must have a “sweet little baby Jesus” or she won’t be happy). One of the neighbors is mugged and left with the warning, “We know where you live.” The thought of desperadoes stalking Spadena Street makes LeJune’s and June Rose’s blood boil. They won’t have it, and they put their minds to figuring out what’s behind the mugging and how to keep their neighborhood safe. In the process, LeJune goes ass-over-tip and finds herself staring up the nostrils of a corpse.

I’m hoping to get to the coffee shop today or tomorrow to work on updating my web site. I would like to move my blog to my web site. If I do that, I’ll close this blog down, just leaving a page with a link to the new one. Everything on this one would be moved there, and still be available, except for the Culinary Chronicles that are here now. I’ve stopped writing those, having passed the happy task on to Karlis Streips, so I’ll rename that page something else and change the ones here now for newer ones, and maybe even write a new one now and then instead of keeping the same ones up forever.

Better go, or I won’t have any time in town.

MA

writing prompt: How would you have reacted, if you heard what sounded like an insult between friends? Put a character in that situation.

