I loves it. When I was a little girl, my mother and I were pretending to be goats one day, and I remarked that Mmm-mmm, I loved grass even more than sauerkraut. I loved it then, and I loves it now. I love it so much, I know how to spell it.

Last year, Glenda’s husband, Greg, gave me a jar he had just put up. It was still hot from the canning. We ate it almost immediately, and it was the best sauerkraut I ever put in my mouth. I need to get his recipe, if he’ll part with it.

Meanwhile, my friend Charlotte gave me her recipe, which is so simple I tried it this morning:

CHARLOTTE’S SAUERKRAUT

  • 1 quart of shredded or chopped cabbage, packed into sterile jar
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp 5% vinegar (standard acidity)
  • 2 tsp salt

Pack the jars with cabbage, add rest of ingredients. Pour boiling water over and put on sterile caps. Charlotte puts her jars in the basement for 4 months. I’m going to put mine in the refrigerator because, the last time I tried to make sauerkraut in the basement, I ended up with two gallons of rotten cabbage.

~~~

Today is Meatless Monday. I don’t study too much on Meatless Monday any more, because we eat so many meatless meals we more than make up for any meat we may eat on Monday. Nevertheless, we had eggs from daughter #2’s chickens and my fresh-baked bread for breakfast. We’ll probably have pimiento cheese  and Benedictine for lunch, and steamed squash for supper.

Rough life.

MA

writing prompt: Write a child character who likes a surprising food.

