I had no intention about posting about last night’s supper, but I called Charlie to the table and he said, “Aren’t you going to take a picture of it?” so I did.

Mom bought this squash from a lady at church who brings in produce and sells it for one of the church’s charities. I didn’t know what kind of squash it was. It looked like a pattypan, but it was much bigger. I should have taken a picture of it before I cooked it but, alas, I did not. It looked like what one of my cookbooks called a Custard Marrow. And it looked like this, which the website I got it from called a White Scallop Rattle. The book said, rather unhelpfully, I thought, to boil it whole until it’s tender. I’m like… okay… is that like five minutes, or is that like all day? I put it in a pot that it just fit into, covered it (almost) with water, cover the pot and brought it to a boil. I boiled it on medium high for about half an hour, then turned it over and turned it down to summer for another half hour. It was tender as butter. Took it out of the pot, cut out the stem, scooped out the seeds and cut it into fourths.

squashI took half of it to Mom, since she gave it to me in the first place, and split the other half between Charlie and self. The flavor was very mild, but very nice. If I see another one of these, I’ll get it, and I might experiment with other squashes. So far, I’ve only had acorn and butternut (and pumpkin, of course), yellow summer squash and zucchini. I tried spaghetti squash once and I was like EWWW-wwww! If I want spaghetti, I’ll eat spaghetti. If I want squash, I’ll eat squash. I probably just fixed it wrong.

Anyway, here is last night’s supper: some kinda squash, green beans and potatoes from our garden, and bread. It was yum.

MA

writing prompt: Have a character FORCED to cook something he/she has never seen before.

