Hitting the farmers’ market this morning for a couple of things for self and Mom and then cooking my dish for World on the Square family fair (see earlier post). Going there about 12 to help get ready for the International tasting buffet that opens at 4, when the fair opens. Naturally, today is the hottest day of the year so far. The buffet is in the basement of a church, air conditioned, which is why I’ve been banished there instead of my former post with Mom at the Passport booth. I kept getting heat stroke, so they finally said, “If you can’t stand the heat, get into the kitchen.”

All the kids (and adults who want to) can pick up “passports”: little booklets with questions about various countries. They take the books to the information booths set up on the square, ask the questions, get the answers, and get their books stamped. When they have at least a certain number stamped, they come back to the Passport Booth and claim a prize–like a Chinese fan or a fiesta bandana or a friendship bracelet.

And there are “door” prizes, too, which you don’t have to be present to win! Mom and I are among those who solicit donations. I don’t know what anybody else scored, but we got a HUGE basket of baby gifts from Butt Drugs, gift certificates from lots of downtown merchants, a wine basket from Turtle Run Winery…. Great stuff, this year. Makes me wish I were a guest and not a worker.

Oh, yeah, except that I’ll be in the kitchen with all that food….

MA

writing prompt: If you were called upon to make an ethnic dish, what would you make? I’m making bratwurst and cabbage.

