Mom taped a show of American humor, which we watched Friday night. Lots of stuff on Laugh-In which was such a major cultural Thing in its time. The show didn’t even come close to dwelling on anything in it except Richard Nixon’s appearance during the election cycle, saying their signature phrase, “Sock it to me”…and getting it wrong.

Anyway, when the time came for me to bake a cake for the reception at church this morning, there was only one kind I could make: Sock It To Me Cake. This was my late grandfather’s specialty. I ended up not using his recipe because there was a recipe on the side of the box that looked the same. Upon comparing the two, his was a little different, but not by much. Here is his:

SOCK IT TO ME CAKE

* 1 box butter cake mix
* 1 cup sour cream
* 1/2 cup sugar
* 1 stick margarine or butter
* 1/2 cup oil
* 1 cup nuts
* 4 eggs
* 2 Tbs brown sugar
* 1 tsp cinnamon

Mix together the first 7 ingredients. Beat well, pour half of the batter into the pan. Mix brown sugar and cinnamon together. Sprinkle over batter in pan; then pour the remaining batter in pan.

Bake at 350F until done, about 40-50 minutes.

I know his was good, and I know the one I made will be good because I tasted the batter.

Well, I’ve been running sideways to keep from flying this weekend, and today is no different. See you tomorrow.

MA

writing prompt: Have a character make a recipe by an absent relative, a recipe he/she DIDN’T like while the relative was alive. You decide whether character now likes or still dislikes the result and whether the change (if any) has to do with the food or the relative or the character.

