I finally bit the bullet–so to speak–and cooked and ate leeks for the first time that I know of. If you have never seen a leek–or don’t know if you have–this is what they look like once you lasso a passel of them.

leeks untrimmed

A little like green onions (spring onions, scallions) on steroids. They looked otherwise familiar, though, and then I realized why.

separated at birthbeaker

So I trimmed them, and this is all that was left. I looked it up on the internet, and this is all that’s supposed to be left. What the internet did not tell me, butleeks trimmed I’m telling you, is that leeks are feelthy. FEELTHY! They must grow them in fine black silt, because I can’t imagine that they could afford to sell them at such a reasonable price if they had to pay people to rub fine black silt into every possible crack, pit and fold. I peeled a couple of layers off what was left and I shot some high-powered water jets into the cut ends, and I still had to pull one puppy out of the pan as its outer layer got translucent and I spotted some silt underneath.

So anyway, I cooked them thusly:

BRAISED LEEKS

  • butter or margarine or oil (just a bit)
  • 1 cup broth or bouillon
  • sprinkle of sugar
  • sprinkle of paprika

Heat the butter and bouillon in a pan. Add the leeks. Cover and cook on medium high for about 15-20 minutes. Uncover and sprinkle with just a pinch of sugar. Continue to cook, uncovered, turning occasionally, until liquid is gone and sugar caramalizes on leeks. Put on plate and sprinkle with paprika, if desired.

Bottom line: DELICIOUS! We’re light eaters, so we only ate one each. I don’t know if we’re going to do plain leftovers or if I’m going to put some with something else: leek and potato soup, for example, or leek and something pie. We’ll definitely have these again, if I can find them again. Two thumbs up.

MA

writing prompt: Have a character buy, cook and eat an unfamiliar food. Make it as I-Love-Lucy as you like.

