Yesterday, I was all Susie Homemaker. Anybody else remember those ads for child-sized brooms, aprons, etc. with the bright little voice singing about how Susie Homemaker can help Mother around the house with her very own cleaning implements?

Not that I cleaned. I guess I was more Betty Crocker, now that I think of it. I made sweet-and-sour pickles (recipe in an earlier post) and pesto (ditto) and put some coffee in cold water to infuse for cold brew coffee (again ditto).

Then I was going to cook my kale and my leeks, but I had all that pesto, and I just couldn’t pass up fresh pesto, so I kept some out and froze the rest. Cut up some portabella mushrooms and sliced some yellow squash paper-thin and cut some tiny fresh green beans into little bites and sauteed it all in a bit of butter. Cooked some frozen cheese-stuffed ravioli and mixed veg, ravioli and pesto. Also made a salad of fresh spinach, Gala apples and walnuts. I had Blue Cheese dressing and Charlie had California French. (Mine was better.)

Then, before I went to Mom’s to finish reading Ellis Peters’ THE ROSE RENT to her, I made some dog biscuits for Joe. (Joe is the dog.)

When I had vegetarian dog-lovers living with me, I made this recipe vegetarian. This time, I had a bunch of lard left over from seasoning my cast-iron skillet, so I made it with lard.

MICROWAVE DOG TREATSdog biscuits

  • 1 c  Whole wheat flour or mix whole wheat and rye
  • 3/4 c  Dry milk
  • 1/4 c  Cornmeal
  • 1/3 c  Shortening–butter, margarine, lard or oil
  • 1 tb Bouillon granules–veg or meat
  • 1/2 c  Plain flour
  • 1/2 c  Quick cooking oats
  • 1 ts Sugar
  • 1  Egg, slightly beaten
  • 1/4 c  Peanut butter plus
  • Hot water to equal 1/2 cup

Combine flour, cornmeal, milk, oats and sugar.  Cut in shortening, add egg, boullion, and hot water. Add extra water or flour, if you need to. Knead 5 mins. and roll in 1/2″ thick and cut out to favorite shapes. Micro at 1/2 power for 5 to 10 mins, rotating plate.

Joe loves these. They do NOT look just like my smoked tofu. They do NOT! Shut up!

Today, I need to work on the updates to my pro site and read more of my #4 daughter’s book. It is AWESOME!

MA

writing prompt: You make something for the dog and a person eats it OR you make something complicated and time-consuming and somebody thinks it’s for the dog.

