I know, I know–all my fellow Boomers who came of age in the ’60’s are going, “Herbs? Dude….” but I mean real ones. Whenever Charlie complains that we spend more (especially in terms of his time) on the garden than we save, I can always point out the herbs. I price them sometimes, when I buy the ones we don’t grow, and that stuff is expensive!oreganobloom

We have basil (for pesto, mostly), oregano, mint (for Mint Juleps and Mint Tea and Cucumber Mint Salad), sage, rosemary and dill (mostly for pickles). The picture here is of oregano. You’re really supposed to harvest it before it blooms, but the blooms are so pretty, I just can’t.

Today, I plan to make pesto. I have one very bushy oregano plant outside the door so, even though it’s raining steadily, I’ll pop out and cut a bunch, process it in the food processor and freeze it in ice cube trays, then pop the cubes out into a plastic bag.

PESTO

  • 2 cups packed fresh basil leaves
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup garlic-infused olive oil

Put in processor. Process.

When I’m making just enough for one meal, I moosh it all up in a mortar and pestle, but I’m sure not going to do that for a winter’s worth! Laziness, thou shalt be nameless, but thy initials are Marian Allen.

MA

writing prompt: If you could only grow one food plant, what would it be?

