indianpipeCharlie came in and said, “Bring your camera and come look at this. I never saw anything like this before.” He said, “I was bringing in the paper–” This was in the morning in the semi-darkness–“and I saw this and it looked like a little ghost.” By this time, it was light enough to see clearly, so I grabbed my snapper and out we went.

As soon as I saw it, I said, “That’s Indian Pipe.” Where I ever came across a picture of this and its name, I couldn’t tell you. I certainly don’t remember. Possibly, it was an inspired guess, but I don’t have many of those, so I must’ve seen it somewhere. Charlie will be interested to know I’ve learned it’s also known as Ghost Plant or Corpse Plant. I took several pictures of it. When daughter #2 came over, she spotted another clump, also at the edge of the woods.

This is one of many reasons I LOVE living where I do. You never know what you’re going to see. 🙂

MA

writing prompt: Go take a picture of something unexpected. Look closely.

