I’m doing this on the church computer, and the keyboard seems to have been manufactured specifically to be difficult for me to use. I was going to access their internet on my keyboard, but they have a password that is the greatest–not only does nobody know what it is, nobody who works here now even knows that there IS a password. So I am reduced to using the secretary’s computer until she comes in.

Personally, I think it’s a sneaky way to get me used to working here so I’ll volunteer to help out. In my copious free time, you know.

Anyway, another Meatless Monday has come. For breakfast, we had French Toast:

FRENCH TOAST

  • butter
  • stale bread
  • egg
  • milk
  • vanilla
  • cinnamon
  • topping

Melt butter in pan. Beat egg, milk and vanilla with a fork (I used one egg and about 1/4 cup or less of milk and a small splash of vanilla for three pieces of stale bread–the more stale the bread, the more it soaks up). Dredge the bread in the liquid and put in hot butter. Sprinkle with cinnamon. Cook until browned (minute or two), turn and cook on other side. Put on plate and top with powdered sugar, syrup or jam.

For lunch, I brought:

BEAN QUESADILLA

  • flour tortilla
  • vegetarian refried beans
  • pepperjack cheese

Schmeer beans on flour tortilla. Add cheese. Fold over. Microwave or heat on both sides in pan or oven until hot and cheese is melted.

For supper, we have an embarrassment of riches. Will probably have corn on the cob, breaded and fried yellow squash and broccoli salad.

BROCCOLI SALAD

  • broccoli (duh)
  • mayonnaise
  • raisins
  • walnuts (optional)

Mix. Eat.

MA

writing prompt: Your character can’t use a computer he/she needs to use. How does he/she solve the problem or react to being unable to solve the problem?

