Yesterday, Charlie and I went to Marengo to help celebrate his Aunt Marion’s 90th birthday. She looked beautiful, and was as sweet and sharp and sassy as ever, even though she had broken her wrist a few days earlier and just came home from the hospital that morning. All her children, stepchildren, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, great-great-grandchildren were there, and lots of her nieces, nephews, cousins and friends. They put out quite a spread, including fresh lemonade.

I did not spill my lemonade. Charlie spilled his lemonade… on my side of the table and into my plate. So I was not the schlemiel this time; I was the schlemazle. It made a nice change.

Marengo was hit by a tornado a few years ago, and by a flood, but you would never know it to look at it now. Everything is so fresh and green and lush and beautiful. I wish people could recover so well from the devastation we visit on ourselves. I mean, I’m pretty resilient, but a lot of people aren’t. They keep hurting themselves and can’t seem to get over the damage and can’t seem to stop doing it.

I’m still messing around with making my pro site into a blog-based site. This will happen Real Soon Now.

MA

writing prompt: Write a character who really is his/her worst enemy. Try to think of five things she/he could do or that could happen that might break the cycle.

