Today, which is really tomorrow, since I’m writing this post yesterday–that is, today–Charlie and I are spending part of the day at a family pitch-in gathering. I’m making my refrigerator pickles. This recipe was given to me over thirty years ago by my then-housemate, who had it from her mother, who had it from her…aunt, I think. Annie Boots, I think it was.recipebook

Anyway, Charlie’s family LOVES these pickles, which are very quick and easy to make.

Here is the recipe book in which I keep this recipe. I bought this book from one of Charlie’s nephews when he (the nephew, not Charlie) was in elementary school, maybe 25 years ago. I use it to keep all my VMFRs–my Very Most Favorite Recipes, like Vegetarian Spoonburgers, Hot Chicken Salad, Dutch Babies and these pickles. This is the recipe I was given, then I’ll tell how I fudge it.

REFRIGERATOR PICKLES

  • 8-12 cucumbers
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 3-4 green or sweet red peppers, seeded
  • 4-6 large onions
  • 1/4 cup salt
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 2 cups vinegarpickles

Combine sugar and vinegar and bring to a boil. Cool and chill.

Cut up vegetables into a colander and sprinkle with salt. Let sit at room temperature for a while. Put the vegetables into jars and pour the chilled liquid over them. Refrigerator for 12 hours or more before serving. Keeps in refrigerator for at least 6 months.

——–

picklescannedNow, I usually make less than this, and I usually use more celery and less onion and pepper–usually green onion including the green part rather than bulb onion. Today, all I had was one tiny green pepper, and also had some lovely small and tender green beans, so I used the bit of pepper cut quite small and also broke up some green beans in the mix. We’ll see how that goes over. If you don’t have 8-12 cucumbers, just use what you have, and remember that the ratio of sugar to vinegar is 3 parts sugar to 2 parts vinegar. Today, I used 1 1/2 cups sugar and 1 cup vinegar.

I turn the jar upside down for a few hours to make sure the vegetables on the top get good and pickled, because the jar will spend the greater part of its life right-way up, with the juice permeating the stuff on the bottom.

Oh–and if you get impatient, you can serve this after only an hour or two as a cucumber salad. It’s still good.

MA

writing prompt: If your country celebrates an Independence Day, what would you have a character do on that day?

