I got SO MUCH Swiss chard at the Saturday market! Also got a couple of little turnips. I cut one up and boiled it with some of the chard, seasoned with chunks of fatty ham, some lemon basil and a little salt. Also made some fried green tomatoes, the Queen of Foods. Here’s how I do that:

FRIED GREEN TOMATOES

Soak the sliced tomatoes in the salted water for a few minutes. I don’t know if this does any good, but my late mother-in-law claimed it took the bitterness out of the tomatoes and she was one of the best cooks ever, so I do what she said. Blend the flour and the Jane’s and heat the oil. Dredge the tomatoes in the flour, making sure to coat the sides, too. Fry until crisp and browned on both sides, turning as often as necessary. Drain on paper towels.
Then Charlie said, “I like cornbread with greens. Would it be too much trouble to make cornbread?”

Well, of course it isn’t!

CORNBREAD THE WAY CHARLIE LIKES IT

  • about 1/2 cup yellow corn meal
  • about 1 cup buttermilk
  • about 1 tsp baking powder
  • about 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • a little butter

Melt the butter in a skillet with a cover. Mix everything else and put it in the low-medium hot skillet (on an electric range, about a 4). Cover the skillet. Check every so often. When the surface of the cornmeal is dry and nothing woobles when you shake the pan and the pone (the cooked cornbread) comes loose when you shake (gently!), slide the pone out onto a plate. Turn it back into the pan with the browned-side of the pone up, put it back on the burner, cover the pan and turn off the heat.

So I made everything and put it in a rimmed plate (I don’t “plate the food”. I don’t bowl the soup or glass the wine, either). Then I julienned the other turnip and poured the pot likker over the greens and cornbread. By the time I took the picture, the cornbread had sopped up most of the liquid, which is kind of the idea.

Good supper, if I do say so myself.

MA

writing prompt: How would your character react to being asked to make something unplanned for supper at the last possible minute?

