Deb is one of my longest-term friends. We’ve known each other since college, when we were roommates. She’s my third-longest-term friend, actually. Beth is longest–we met the summer between junior and senior high school. She introduced me to Jane. Then Deb, then Pat, my Midwest Writers Workshop pal, whom I’ve known for about 30 years. I guess, technically, my mother is my longest-term friend, since she’s known me since before I was born, or maybe it would be God. Deb is my third-longest-term friend who isn’t a relative or, you know, the Deity.

Anyway, Deb sent me a cookbook put out by her church, and I made a dish out of it. I won’t reprint the recipe, because I didn’t exactly follow it. The recipe was called:

PASTA WITH SHRIMP (or not) AND VEGGIES

  • pasta
  • shrimp
  • veggies

Obvious enough, so far, eh? The pasta I used was vermicelli, which is thin spaghetti. Never mind what “vermicelli” means in Italian–trust me, you don’t want to know. The shrimp I used was tiny pre-cooked frozen shrimp, defrosted. The veggies I had on hand and felt like using were mushrooms and broccoli. I toasted the sliced mushrooms in a dry non-stick skillet, then added the crisp-tender broccoli and some white wine. Meanwhile, I made some pesto, but you could use pre-made pesto or open a jar of spaghetti sauce or Alfredo sauce or use whatever sauce you like. Then I added the shrimp and stirred the veg and shrimp together until it was all hot, then put it in a bowl with the spaghetti and pesto and mixed well.

You could leave out the shrimp and have just pasta with veggies, or you could substitute ham or bacon for the shrimp.

So thanks for the cookbook, Deb!

MA

writing prompt: Have a character make a dish from a recipe given him/her by an old friend.

