It stormed up a storm last night, and today promises to be more of the same. I have a lunch date with my friend Jane in Louisville, but We’ll probably postpone it. I purely hate driving in a heavy rain, and driving in a thunderstorm just makes me want to pull over and cry. It’s a terrible thing, to see a fat, middle-aged Goth woman with chin hair and a spiked hairdo sobbing into her steering wheel. I just don’t want to subject the world to a spectacle like that. It would be terribly, terribly unkind.

So yesterday, EVEN THOUGH I AM NOT A VEGETARIAN, we had an almost totally vegetarian day. We did have ham for breakfast, but that was it. It just worked out that way.

We had vegetable soup for lunch–broth from various veggies that I saved for the purpose, mushrooms, asparagus, onion, potatoes, carrots and potatoes, flavored with vegetarian vegetable bouillon and fresh herbs from the planters outside the back door. And–

BUCKSKIN BREAD

  • 2 cups self-rising flour
  • 1 cup water

Mix and bake in a greased pie plate at 400F for about 20 minutes.

Also–

PEA SALAD

  • defrosted frozen peas
  • small chunks of mild cheddar cheese
  • hard-boiled egg
  • mayonnaise
  • lettuce

Combine in whatever proportions please you.

For supper, we had corn on the cob and cheese-stuffed ravioli dressed with the rest of the asparagus, the rest of the mushrooms, sauteed yellow peppers and freshly made (YES, I DO make fussy stuff, if it isn’t TOO fussy) pesto.

I love fresh pesto, and went so far as to buy a mortar and pestle so I can make it “properly”. When the basil is in and I make big batches to freeze, I use the food processor, but I do one-meal batches by hand.

Got to go check the weather. If I get to Louisville, I’ll send you a postcard.

MA

writing prompt: How do your characters feel about thunderstorms? I hate them. My #4 daughter loves them.

