First, this word from our sponsor (me):

Book signing today at 4:00pm at Destinations Booksellers in New Albany, Indiana. Not just me–several of the Southern Indiana Writers Group will be there. We’ll be signing our non-group books (SWORD AND SORCERESS XXII and XXIII, GHOSTS OF HIGHWAY I-65, DYING IN A WINTER WONDERLAND), launching our new SIW anthology MOST WANTED, and selling any others of our anthologies still in print.

Come schmooze.

We had company coming for a late supper, so I spent the morning clearing away the dust in the house, down to the shiny grime underneath. Then I mixed up some bread dough and biscuit dough. Then I had lunch. Then I came into the office and started a post. Then the power went out. Flicker, flicker, off. On. Off. On. Off. Still off. Off some more. It was off for four hours.

When the power came back on, I had to make the belated supper, then company came and… and then we had company. So no blahg for me.iris

We’re having some beautiful days now, although suddenly scorching hot. The ticks are extremely lively and as friendly as car salesmen who need to make their quotas. Not my most favorite part about living in the country. I’ll tell you what I do love, though, and that’s fresh rhubarb. I’ll post a recipe for strawberry-rhubarb pie one of these fine days. I made one yesterday–once the power came back on, but I’m too lazy to go into the kitchen and get the recipe and post it today.

MA

Writing prompt: Knock out the power when a character is in the middle of something, with a deadline approaching. Reactions? Actions?

