I know, it sounds YUCK, but it’s really salmon casserole. That sounds better, doesn’t it? I wrote about fish pie in one of my Culinary Chronicles for World Wide Recipes recently, so I needed to make it. I love salmon with a love that is true, but I wasn’t madly keen about this in the end. It would have been better if I had made it according to the recipe I was given, but I was feeling too lazy to chop celery, so it’s my own fault.pie-start

SALMON CASSEROLE

  • butter
  • chopped green onion
  • chopped celery–DO IT! YOU’LL THANK ME LATER!
  • flour
  • milk
  • dried dill weed
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 can salmon, drained and picked over if you’re like that
  • mashed potatoes, instant or leftoverpie-topped
  • egg yolk or whole egg

Melt butter in saucepan. Fry the onion AND CELERY until vegetables start to get tender. Remove from heat. Use some of the now-flavored butter to butter a casserole dish. Add flour to butter, stir until well mixed, return to heat and cook until glossy (couple of minutes). Remove from heat and add milk and seasonings. I used a little over 1 Tbs butter and flour, about 3/4 cup milk. When this white sauce is thick and bubbly, add the salmon. I give the juice to our cats, but I put the bones in. I like the bones, all right? Shut UP–they crunch real good! Anyway, mix and heat through and put in casserole. Wash out the pot and make about 2 servings of mashed potatoes, more if you want to. Add egg/yolk and stir to mix well. Put potatoes on top of casserole, spreading to cover orpie-and-asp blopping around the edges. If you want to get all Martha Stewart about it, put the potatoes in a pastry bag and pipe them on in a pretty design. Whatever. Bake it at about 400 for about 1 hour, or until the mashed potatoes get puffy and brown. I think it would have been better if I’d mixed some Parmesan cheese into the potatoes, too.

The asparagus was frozen, since ours STILL haven’t come up, dressed with hard-boiled egg and French dressing.

Next time, I’ll do the celery. I used celery flakes, but it wasn’t the same. The bones were good, though.

MA

Writing prompt:

