Yeah, I’m still going on about the indigestible bovine section I ate the other night. I think it’s still in there. I may have to swallow some gravel like a chicken to grind it up.

Anyway, last night we had veggies, and they were scrumptious.

I made a stir-fry, using drizzles of garlic-flavored olive oil and sesame oil, tiny baby bellas, bok choy, sweet yellow peppers, green onions, smoked almonds and leftover ramen noodles. It was heavenly.

Also made my favorite–golden mountain cauliflower. I have to finish this in two dishes, because Charlie doesn’t like it.

GOLDEN MOUNTAIN CAULIFLOWER

  • 1 head cauliflower
  • Dijon mustard
  • mayonnaise
  • salt and pepper
  • shredded cheese

Take a head of cauliflower and cut out the toughest part of the stem, leaving enough to hold the florets together. Put it on a microwave-safe plate and cover with a microwave-safe bowl. Nuke it for 7 minutes on high. Let it sit for at least 5 minutes before you uncover it.

If everybody likes it, mix equal amounts of mustard and mayonnaise and stir in salt and pepper. Cover the cauliflower with this mix, sprinkle with cheese (I like sharp cheddar) and microwave again for 1-2 minutes until cheese is soft and hot.

If somebody’s a pick-pick, separate the head into portions after the first zap, and dress according to their tastes. For Charlie, I mixed mild cheddar, milk and salt, heated it and poured it over his cauliflower, and he was happy with that.

——-

At one time, I had a houseful who loved chili. However, among them were a vegetarian, a meat-only eater, some who liked beans, some who didn’t, some who liked chopped tomatoes, some who didn’t, some who liked lots of spaghetti with it and some who didn’t. So, whenever somebody tells me chili is an easy, one-dish meal, I roll on the floor helpless with laughter.

I made a pot of spaghetti. I made a pot of kidney beans. I chopped tomatoes into a bowl. I fried and spiced hamburger. I made a pot of chili sauce. Everybody was happy. I made them do the dishes.

MA

Writing prompt: Make a character have to cope with picky eaters.

