You know what that word means? It means Children Garden. My kindergarten experience was a garden of weirdness. It’s no wonder I grew up the way I did. But our library has a REAL kindergarten, a garden made just for children and partly by children.

freeparkingThere’s a parking place between the library and the garden, and I had to take this picture. The tree is absolutely gorgeous–it makes me happy just to look at it.

The garden is behind the old Carnegie library. This huge tree has been there forever. At one time, there was some talk of cutting it down, and it may still fall, but for the time being, it’s been saved. The library board had the lower branches trimmed away and the Children’s Library section put in these little statues of children and animals, kid-sized benches and shade-loving plants. There are several sets of wind-chimes hung here and there.

treegarden1

The paving stones were made by children, using their own handprints and whatever decorations they liked.

treegarden3

Walking into it is like going into a natural tent. It looks so cozy and secluded as you approach but, once you get inside, it’s enormous.

treegarden2

During good weather, the Children’s Librarians have some activities out there, and I frequently see families in there, looking around or sitting and reading.

It reminds me of when I was in Junior/High school in Louisville. I would take the bus in town to the main library and check out some books. Then I would walk up Fourth Street to Uncle Miltie’s delicatessen (no longer with us, alas) for a lean corned beef on rye, chips, pickle and bottle of Dr. Brown’s Cel-Ray Tonic. Then I would walk back to the library and sit at the foot of the Lincoln statue and eat my lunch and read a book. *sigh* Happy, happy days. If I never get to heaven, I’ve known Paradise on those days. Peace and happiness for under three bucks. You can’t beat memories like that.

MA

Writing prompt: Give a character a perfect memory that can never be exactly recreated. Does the memory hurt, or is it a source of joy forever?

