Yesterday was one of those days I was running sideways to keep from flying, and I didn’t get home until past time I usually start supper. It’s been cool and drizzly, and I just wanted some chili. Since Charlie doesn’t eat red meat, it had to be veggie or chicken, and I picked chicken because it was quicker (I had some pre-cooked chicken on hand).

WHITE CHICKEN CHILI OR WHITE VEGETARIAN CHILI

  • butter and garlic-flavored olive oil
  • chopped onions, if using (Charlie can’t eat onions, so I don’t use them)
  • chili powder
  • cumin powder
  • flour
  • can of white beans
  • broth or water-and-bouillon (chicken or veg, depending)
  • onion powder, if not using onions
  • pre-cooked chicken or vegetables
  • cooked corn
  • Mexican blend cheese

Heat the butter and olive oil. If using onions, cook the onions until translucent. Add the spices and stir until fragrant. Remove from heat and stir in flour (a little less than 1 Tablespoon flour to a little more than 1 Tablespoon butter/oil). Return to heat and cook medium-low until glossy. Remove from heat and add beans. Mash ’em down a little. Add a can of  broth or the bean can of water and about 1 1/2 teaspoons of bouillon and stir to mix well. Return to heat and cook on medium, stirring, until thickened and glossy. Add chicken or vegetables and corn. Put in bowls and sprinkle with cheese. Served with crackers, at my house.

Takes about 15 minutes and serves 2 big eaters or 2 small eaters with leftovers.

MA

Writing prompt: What does cool and drizzly weather make your character want to eat?

