My mother gave me a recipe for Chinese Style Country Ribs from the 50+ Friends Club Cookbook. She said she had made it on top of the stove, since she doesn’t have a crock-pot (slow cooker) and it was wonderful. I have a slow cooker (or so it claims to be), so I thought I’d give the recipe a try. Mom even gave me a package of boneless ribs.

CHINESE STYLE COUNTRY RIBS

From the Kitchen of Sylvia

  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup orange marmalade
  • 2 Tbsp catsup
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 3 to 4 lbs. country-style spareribs (boneless ribs)

Combine soy sauce, marmalade, catsup and garlic. Brush on both sides of ribs. Place in slow-cooking pot. Pour remaining sauce over all. Cover and cook on low for 8 to 10 hours.

Makes 4 to 6 servings.

bbqfailWell, I didn’t have 1/4 cup of marmalade, and I didn’t feel like crushing a clove of garlic and I had a bottle of honey-garlic barbecue sauce, so I mixed that with the marmalade I had and followed the rest of the directions and went out for the day. Unfortunately, the slow-cooker did NOT follow the directions, cooked hot even though it was set on low, and burned the ribs. I’m talking charcoal, folks. There was enough of it edible enough that we could choke it down along with some good food I had intended as side dishes, but most of it was so charred on the outside it wasn’t worth the effort getting to the dry remnants in the middle.

I gave most of it to Joe (The Noble Hound). He ate it, but the look of reproach he cast upon me as he took the first bite will haunt me forever.

Today I went to church only learn that our coming new minister changed his mind and is going to stay where he is. Meh. Our interim minister, believing, along with us, that he needed to move on, made other commitments, so we’ll be pastorless again while the Search Committee goes back to the drawing board. That means I may preach again. Can I get an AMEN?

Dept of Coincidences: I’m reading Diane Mott Davidson’s THE LAST SUPPERS, one of those mysteries with recipes in them. Last night, the chapter I read had a recipe for Almond Poppyseed Muffins, which she made for the after-church snack. Today, after church, I went to see if anybody had made anything for snacks, and my young friend Karen had made–Almond Poppyseed Muffins. And she’s never read the book or heard of the author. A happy coincidence, indeed.

MA

Writing prompt: Give a character a happy coincidence that somewhat mollifies a deep disappointment.

