I’ve been in the woods, dodging wolves and girls in red hoods with baskets of goodies. I got a BIG buncha BIG mushrooms, and we will have a FEAST tonight!

Meanwhile, I’m taking Mom to the Easter Egg Hunt at her church, and then we’re going to the grand opening of Colokial, the new shop in Corydon selling goods from Latin America.

Before we go, I think I’ll make a jar of tea.

Several years ago, my “other daughter”, Sarah Combs, gave me a couple of packets of Gen Mai Cha and I adore it. Can’t get it around here, of course, but this is almost as good as what she gave me.

ROASTED BARLEY TEA

  • 1/4 cup whole-grain barley, roasted (I get mine at a beer-making supply shop)
  • 2 cups water
  • sugar or honey to taste — this will be a concentrate, so add enough for 2 quarts

Combine water and barley (and sweetener, if used) and boil over moderate heat. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, for 15 minutes. Cool and strain and save in refrigerator. When you want a cup, pour in 1/4 as much as you want, add hot or cold water as desired.

MA

Writing prompt: What would your main character think of when going into the woods–fairy tales, fairies, boogermen, dangerous animals, cute little furry animals, ticks, or what?

